De Bruyne named 2020 PFA player of the year

De Bruyne named 2020 PFA player of the

Belgium and Manchester City midfielder, Kevin De Bruyne, has been named the 2020 Professional Footballers’ Association (PFA) Player of the Year.

The 29-year-old is the first Manchester City player to win the award since its inception in 1974.

De Bruyne beat four Liverpool players to claim the award — Sadio Mane, Trent Alexander-Arnold, Jordan Henderson and last season’s winner, Virgil van Dijk — and his fellow teammate, Raheem Sterling.

The prolific midfielder netted 16 goals and gave 23 assist across all competitions, equalling Thierry Henry’s 20 assist in a single Premier League season.

Speaking after winning the award, De Bruyne who also won the Premier League Player of the Season award said:

“It’s a huge honour. To be voted for by your colleagues and competitors from other teams who you play against and then for you for best player is amazing.

“It’s strange that I’m the first one at City given all the good players that have played here before and who are still playing here but it’s nice to represent the club.

“I think it is [the ultimate honour to be nominated by fellow professionals] because you compete against them, they want to win the trophies, they want to be the best.

“When they vote for you, and it’s everyone who is voting not just a few players, that means you’ve done really well during the season.”

Other Awards:

PFA Women’s Player of the Year: Beth England (Chelsea)

PFA Men’s Young Player of the Year: Trent Alexander-Arnold (Liverpool)

PFA Merit Award: Dr. Marcus Rashford (Manchester United)

READ  Haaland suffers hamstring injury


Nick Pope – Burnley
Trent Alexander-Arnold – Liverpool
Virgil Van Dijk – Liverpool
Caglar Soyuncu – Leicester City Andrew Robertson – Liverpool David Silva – Manchester City Jordan Henderson – Liverpool Kevin De Bruyne – Manchester City
Jamie Vardy – Leicester City Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang – Arsenal
Sadio Mane – Liverpool


Ann-Katrin Berger – Chelsea
Maren Mjelde – Chelsea
Leah Williamson – Arsenal
Millie Bright – Chelsea
Magdalena Eriksson – Chelsea Caroline Weir – Manchester CityKim Little – Arsenal
Ji So-yun – Chelsea
Beth England – Chelsea
Vivianne Miedema – Arsenal
Chloe Kelly – Manchester City


Brice Samba – Nottingham Forest
Luke Ayling – Leeds United
Ben White – Leeds United
Liam Cooper – Leeds United
Joe Bryan- Fulham
Eberechi Eze – QPR
Kalvin Phillips – Leeds United
Romaine Sawyers – West Brom
Aleksandar Mitrovic – Fulham
Ollie Watkins – Brentford
Said Benrahma – Brentford

Reporter: Baatee Barinaa-iyalo

Join Over 1,000 + Readers To Get Free Daily Updates
Enter your email address:

Delivered by FeedBurner

One Comment on “De Bruyne named 2020 PFA player of the year”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.