Lille’s Striker Osimhen wins 2020 Marc-Vivien Foe Prize

Osimhen wins 2020 Marc-Vivien Foe

Lille’s striker Victor Osimhen wins the 2020 Marc-Vivien Foe prize after a fantastic season with the Ligue 1 club.

The Super Eagles forward beat his fellow Super Eagles teammate Moses Simon for the prize.

Other players who were in contention for the prize includes, Denis Bouanga (Saint-Etienne), Andy Delort (Montpellier), Islam Slimani (Monaco), Rennes’ trio of Mbaye Niang, Hamari Traore and Edouard Mendy.

Osimhen is the youngest ever player and second Nigerian to win the award after Ex-super Eagles goalkeeper Vincent Enyeama won it in 2014.

The Prix Marc-Vivien Foé is an award in honor to the late
Cameroon international Marc-Vivien Foé who slumped and died in France during a Confederation Cup tournament in 2003.

Past winners includes,
Marouane Chamakh (2009),
Gervinho Lille (2010, 2011),
Younès Belhanda (2012), Pierre-Emerick Aubameyang (2013), Vincent Enyeama (2014), André Ayew (2015), Sofiane Boufal (2016), Jean Michaël Seri (2017), Karl Toko Ekambi (2018), Nicolas Pépé (2019) and Victor Osimhen Lille (2020).

Osimhen scored 13 goals with four assists in 27 Ligue 1 matches for Lille before the season was cancelled due to the COVID-19 pandemic.

Reporter: Baatee Barinaa-iyalo

Join Over 1,000 + Readers To Get Free Daily Updates
Enter your email address:

Delivered by FeedBurner

READ  Enugu Rangers retires late Ifeanyi George's jersey number 15

One Comment on “Lille’s Striker Osimhen wins 2020 Marc-Vivien Foe Prize”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.